Preserved from the original Gree-conf.org website:


The 2nd NSF Workshop on the Science of Power Management
The Workshop on Low Power System on Chip (SoC)
The Work in Progress in Green Computing (WIPGC)

Main Conference

The First International Green Computing Conference, Technically Co-Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society, addresses key issues and topics related to energy efficiency in computing and promoting environmentally friendly computer technologies and systems. The conference aims to provide a forum to a wide audience for discussing, sharing and investigating the state-of-the-art for all aspects of green computing, which include energy-efficient use of computers, design of algorithms and systems for environmentally-friendly computer technologies, and wide range of related topics. The conference will publish papers pertaining to hardware and software systems, algorithms, applications as well as power, energy and temperature related research areas of current importance to researchers, engineers and practitioners. The conference will hold forums and workshops on hot topics related to how the carbon footprint of computing can be reduced and how computers can contribute to the environment and overall well being of the planet.

Topics of interest are:

  • Power-aware software
  • Code profiling and transformation for power management
  • Power-aware middleware
  • Power-efficient architectures and chip designs
  • Resource management to optimize performance and power
  • Runtime systems that assist in power saving
  • Models for collective optimization of power and performance
  • Monitoring tools for power and performance
  • Algorithms for reduced power, energy and heat
  • Power-aware applications
  • Static and dynamic data allocation for distributed servers
  • Efficient circuit design for energy harvesting
  • Power efficient cluster and enterprise computing
  • Power management at component level, including memory, disk.
  • Configurable and renewable energy
  • Low power electronics
  • Embedded systems, ASICs and FPGSs
  • Power leakage and dissipation
  • Power implications for portable and mobile computing
  • Power aware networking
  • Reliability of Power-aware computers
  • Use of sensors for climate monitoring
  • Smart control for eco-friendly buildings
  • Thermal control of data centers
  • Energy recycling
  • Energy efficient power and cooling infrastructure


General Co-Chairs

  • Ishfaq Ahmad, University of Texas at Arlington, USA, and Sanjay Ranka, University of Florida, USA

Local Arrangement Chair

  • Ashfaq Khokhar, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Publication Chair

  • Saeed Rajput, Nova Southeastern University, USA

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • Javier Alonso, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain, Koji Nakano, University of Hiroshima, Japan, and Masoud Sadjadi, Florida International University, USA.

Panel Chair

  • Krishna Kant, National Science Foundation, USA.

Steering Committee

  • Behrooz Shirazi (Co-Chair), Washington State University, USA, Ishfaq Ahmad (Co-Chair), University of Texas at Arlington, USA, Sandeep Gupta, Arizona State University, USA, Ali Hurson, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA, Ashfaq Khokhar, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA, Francis Lau, University of Hong Kong, China, Sanjay Ranka, University of Florida, USA

Technical Committee

Technical Committee Co-Chairs

  • Rajesh Gupta, University of California at San Diego, USA, and David Lowenthal, University of Arizona, USA

Technical Committee

  • Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Yuvraj Agarwal, UC San Diego, Frank Bellosa, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Luca Benini, University of Bologna, Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers University, Kirk Cameron, Virginia Tech, Luca Carloni, Columbia University, Ranveer Chandra, Microsoft Research, Nikil Dutt, UC Irvine, Wu Feng, Virginia Tech, Vince Freeh, NC State, Chris Gniady, University of Arizona, Randy Katz, Berkeley, Uli Kremer, Rutgers University, Rakesh Kumar, University Illinois Urbana Champaign, Alvy Lebeck, Duke University, Massoud Pedram, University of Southern California, Satoshi Matsuoka, TITECH Japan, Rami G Melhem, University of Pittsburgh, Dimitris Nikolopoulos, FORTH-ICS and University of Crete, Bruce Nordman, Lawrence Berkeley Lab., Vijay Raghunathan, Purdue University, Parthasarathy (Partha) Ranganathan, HP Labs, Trevor Pering, Intel, Kirk Pruhs, University of Pittsburgh, Tajana Rosing, UCSD, Barry Rountree, University of Arizona, Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech, Martin Schulz, LLNL, Bronis de Supinski, LLNL, Nalini Venkatasubramaniam, UC Irvine, and Sarma Vrudula, ASU.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: